Quick News

Deafheaven reveals cover art to new Sunbather album, prepares to Tour Europe and US

Deafheaven Sunbather Album Cover

Sunbather is the highly anticipated new album from San Francisco-based Deafheaven. Recorded and engineered by Jack Shirley (Funeral Diner, Comadre) and designed by Nick Steinhardt (Touche Amore), Sunbather deals with the profound sadness found in the quest for one’s personal perfection, serving as an artistic lucid dream of warmth despite the stinging pain of life’s cruel idealism.

With opener “Dream House”, George Clarke‘s tortured vocals familiarly intertwine with Kerry McCoy’s hypnotic guitar work before crashing into a wash of post-everything melody. This leads to the moving instrumental “Irresistible”, a track that carries a twisted indie-like sensibility buried beneath glittery layers of guitar and piano. However, it is in the title track and beyond where the maturation and growth of Deafheaven brightly shines. On “Sunbather”, they explore sonic peaks and valleys created by superb percussionist Daniel Tracy (new to the band for this recording). Daniel’s inclusion brings new dynamics to light as an urgent pulse to the swirling musical chaos, pushing bleak epic “Vertigo” and the dark emotional closer “The Pecan Tree” to new, awe-inducing heights. Without question Sunbather is Deafheaven at the peak of their creative strength and vision of their young existence; a 7-song, masterfully crafted work of art that will be renowned for years to come.

Deafheaven formed in San Francisco, CA in 2010 and immediately turned heads with the release of their 4-song demo. The band signed to Boston-based Deathwish Inc. shortly thereafter and wrote and recorded 2011’s stunning debut LP Roads to Judah. Deafheaven hit the road hard in support of RTJ – hitting 27 countries and touring alongside Godflesh, Alcest, Russian Circles and more – and closed out 2012 with a split release with Bosse-de-Nage on Flenser Records, featuring Deafheaven‘s take on Mogwai‘s “Punk Rock / Cody”, which was called “an incredible and emotional listening experience” by Exclaim!. 2013 will see Deafheaven releasing their second full-length album, Sunbather, on June 11th and touring the world once again support of it. Check out the tour dates for Deafheaven‘s European tour with The Secret (Southern Lord) this April and May, as well as track list and release information for Sunbather, below.

Sunbather Track List:
1. Dream House
2. Irresistible
3. Sunbather
4. Please Remember
5. Vertigo
6. Windows
7. The Pecan Tree

deafheaven the secret euro tour

18.04.13 Germany Karlsruhe @ Stadtmitte
19.04.13 Belgium Durbuy @ Durbuy Rock Fest
20.04.13 France Rouen @ 106
21.04.13 France Paris @ Le Fleche D’or
22.04.13 Delemont, Switzerland @ SAS
23.04.13 Germany München @ Feierwerk
24.04.13 Italy Bologna @ Freakout
25.04.13 Italy Milano @ Lo Fi Club
26.04.13 Slovenia Nova Gorica @ Mostovna
27.04.13 Hungary Budapest @ Dürer Kert
29.04.13 Germany Berlin @ Magnet
30.04.13 Denmark Lyngby @ Templet
01.05.13 Norway Oslo @ Revolver
02.05.13 Sweden Stockholm @ IOGT-huset i Skarpnäck
03.05.13 Germany Rostock @ Alte Zuckerfabrik
04.05.13 Holland Arnhem @ Willemeen
06.05.13 UK Nottingham @ Rock City Basement
07.05.13 UK Glasgow @ Ivory Blacks
08.05.13 UK Leeds @ The Library
09.05.13 UK London @ Borderline
10.05.13 Germany Köln @ MTC
13.05.13 Russia Moscow @ Plan B (Deafheaven only)
14.05.13 Russia St. Petersburg @ Arktika (Deafheaven only)

5.22.13 San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Shop
5.23.13 Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex
5.24.13 Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex

The Best Activewear for Men at Activewearformen.com

The Latest

To Top